THE CASTLE


The snow/white Neo-Gothic castle in the Heard of Alatskivi was Designed and constructed (1880-1885) by Arved Georg von Nolcken, the landlord of Alatskivi estate, as a home for his family. The stylish entrance and marvellous turrets show the clear similarity to a part of the Balmoral castle in Scotland. Since 1919 the building has been used for different purposes by various institutions. In 2011 the completely restored castle was opened to the public. Today, the visitors of the castle can admire the fascinating interior and learn about the history of the building and living in it. 

  • On the 1st floor is a visitor centre which presents the castle as the dwelling house of one family, in addition gives an overview of manor history, its restoration.
  • On the basement floor is an exhibition of the historical photos of manors in Tartu County and waxworks museum. You can also take part in pottery and textile workshops.
  • On the 2nd floor is a museum dedicated to a world-famous Estonian composer Eduard Tubin.
  • The Alatskivi Castle Restaurant (1st floor) offers delicious food from Estonia, German and Scottish cuisine and exceptional possibility to spend  night in four extraordinary suites on the 2nd floor.